Life can be golden

The only gold people really need.

The only gold people really need.

My job with Piccolo unexpectedly ended on Friday, well, not totally unexpectedly.

Pic hates analytical work, so he thought would take another six weeks. I like it, so I never thought would.

I’ve been tying up loose ends, sleeping, and packing this weekend.  I should be with Der by Palm Sunday, if not before. Although he’ll be off in Belgium, which is probably good. It gives the animals a chance to settle in and get familiar with his scent.

My grandmother is a bit upset she’s losing her personal attendant, but realistically, it’s probably good for her. She needs to make better choices with her health and having me around to call on doesn’t help.

She chose to stop driving and ended up losing her license, because I was around to drive her. I warned her, but she didn’t listen. Too, she’s getting a bit forgetful, because she doesn’t eat right or exercise appropriately. She could, she simply chooses not to.

I feel a bit guilty leaving, but my parents say I shouldn’t, that I’m not responsible for her bad choices and she might make better ones when I leave. Or maybe not. But either way, it’s not my responsibility.

I have to say the whole experience here has made me feel more responsible for me. I have begun to make better choices and be more aggressively independent because I can see where bad choices and giving up even a bit of independence leads.

That probably all sounds strange when I about to go walkabout and exist on the kindness strangers, but I see it more as me, on my own, finding out more about me and what I want out of life.

And now I have to go feed my goldfish, because I am responsible for them!

 

2 thoughts on “Life can be golden

  1. Thanks, LB! I’m sure if I just douse that guilt in something sparkling with a high alcohol content I’ll be fine! I’m thinking a California Zin with 22% by volume. But maybe you could post a me an appropriate guilt-dousing recommendation?

Leave a Reply

