Worst Friend Ever

secret

I recently found out a good friend has leukemia and has been given 14 months to live.

In ruminating about this on a late night walk with Red, I thought to myself, “I really should send a Get Well card.”

Of course a split second later I realized, she wasn’t going to get well.

I pondered Hallmark’s lack of a “Happy Dying” card section.

And my own stupidity.

Then I laughed.

Which was okay.

As Shaw once said,

Life does not cease to be funny when people die any more than it ceases to be serious when people laugh.

Leave a Reply

