Shades of grey, or is it gray?

retro-grey-block-mondrian-inspired-art-21863186

I’ve been doing  research for a new book (non-fiction, art-related) which I hope to have out by December 1.

Yesterday, I stumbled upon the difference between grey and gray.

I know.

How could anyone be excited over a discovery like that?

Admittedly, it’s not a cure for cancer, but I always use gray and  get blasted for it by friends who are authors, editors, English professor and other types of pillock.

At any rate, I shall keep you in suspense no longer . . . .

  • Grey with an E is the mixing of black and white.
  • Gray with an A is the mixing of black, white, and a third color so that the resulting color is a tinted grey.

Now go forth and impress some word snob carrying a dictionary.

4 thoughts on “Shades of grey, or is it gray?

  1. No worries, after a couple more shots neither of us will remember who owes what to whom!

    BTW, I discovered this nugget in Chapter IX in the 1906 Re-written and much enlarged 3rd edition of “Paint and Colour Mixing: A practical handbook for painters, decorators, artists and all who have to mix colours.” Published in London.

    Author Arthur Seymour Jennings devotes an entire chapter to the subject. Thank God, I had picked up some excellent Albarino beforehand.

  2. No way!! I never knew that. I thought it was a simple American vs British/Cdn dichotomy, but this is so much more interesting. And now I know I’ve been using “grey” correctly to describe my fur after a night of tequila. I am in your debt forever.

Leave a Reply

