The Standing Proposal

Next stop, adventure!

Next stop, adventure!

After much number crunching and thoughtful on-the-ground analysis, Der’s company decided California wasn’t really the best place to set up a West Coast North American office.  The firm has chosen Vancouver, in Canada, instead.

Der left on Friday.  He asked me not to take him to the airport.

It was a strange goodbye, full of things unsaid. Till the very last moment, when his transport arrived and his bags were being loaded in.

He asked if I would come and visit him in Canada. I said of course.

He said he felt as though we had something special. I said I felt that too.

Then gave me an emerald tennis bracelet, he said he’d picked up in the Jewelry District, for practically nothing.

He hoped it would remind me of him. I said it certainly would!

And then there was a silence. We could not lose each other, because we’d never had each other.  There were never strings attached.  And yet, we have a kind of harmonious affection which adds a form to all the fluid passions.

He asked if I would reserve him Valentine’s Day — in 2016. I said two and half years was a long time, anything could happen.

He said that was true. But just in case, if we were still both free and of the same mind, would that Sunday not be the ideal day? I agreed.

We both smiled and put the day into our calendars.

Then he kissed me goodbye and drove off.

Leave a Reply

