Phoning It In

My phone fell apart the other day. I won’t go into details, but it’s demise did involve a hacksaw.

Suffice it to say, I took it as an opportunity to get a new phone — a casio ravine, which is built for abuse, won out over the more delicate iPhone 4. Better yet, I got a new ringtone.

With the help of a creative commons recording on archive.org and makeownringtone.com, I was able to create a 27 second excerpt from Boccherini’s Passacalle (used in the video above).

There were other things I might have used, but  I wanted something cheerful and upbeat. Too, I’d just seen Russell Crowe in an advert for Man of Steel. That made me think of Master and Commander, which uses this piece by Boccherini.

I really like my new tune. But, as I look at my phone now, listening to my ringtone, I start thinking about Master and Commander, and men in uniform, and then Superman, and . . . .

In an age without phone booths, where will the Man of Steel change?

Leave a Reply

