Breakfast with . . . friends?

image640x480

I’m not a morning person. But the other day, I rose with the sun.

As I stood at my stove heating up my favorite brew, I looked out at the fence to see my hawk friend in the pink-gold sun, glowing in his russet regalia. I couldn’t believe my luck.

I broke out the field glasses for a better look and . . .
in one expert bloody rip, toss and gulp, she swallowed down a large, long, pink rat tail.

I set my glasses down. It takes a lot more than that to ruffle my feathers. Squeamish is not my thing. The kettle whistled. I filled my cup with aplomb.

I didn’t have a rat anymore! And with luck, that gopher in the front lawn would be toast by tea time!

Leave a Reply

