Santa Lucia! The Gift of Light!

3782_umbrella_lantern

I was gifted a set of 8 Smart solar lanterns recently. They’re small with only 1 LED bulb, but once charged they last 12+ hours and produce a very usable, charming light.

Technically they’re for hanging outdoors. And I did think of setting them in the garden so the dog (still alive, but partially blind now) had a guided path. But in the end, I lined the hallway to my bedroom with them.

I know what you’re thinking. But in truth, I did it to keep people from thinking exactly that.

Lately I’ve been the subject of much scurrilous speculation at holiday parties. Mostly due to the fact my cocktail dresses do not hide the rug burns on my forearms, knees, and other exposed body parts.

One can only explain so many times that one’s solid black dog lays in the dark hallway and when one trips on said dog . . . Viola! Rug burns! And it’s hardly with the effort to explain, given my honesty is met with nothing but giggles, arched brows, and smirks of disbelief.

I suppose I’ll have to stick to formal gown and glove events for a bit. And invest in some night vision goggles.

Leave a Reply

