My Hero

Switzerland’s Fabian Cancellara prepares to compete in the men’s cycling road race at the London 2012 Olympic Games July 28, 2012. REUTERS/P

Decidedly a medal won is a medal earned, and I cannot say how happy I am for Wiggo and Froome for their Time Trial wins.  However, Fabian Cancellara remains for me the Olympian.

He did honor to his country and his family just by showing up and completing the race after the tremendous road race crash only a few days ago in which he was injured. He could have bailed. He didn’t.  Truly he is an inspiration to the world, and that’s just what an Olympian should be.

I do wish there were a “Most Agressive Rider” award at the Olympics, but alas there is not. Still, he’s my hero

Leave a Reply

